Reviews of storm chasing tours

StormChasingUSA.com has the most reviews of storm chasing tour companies on the web and is THE place to go to read reviews of the tour companies before you book your tour. You can also compare prices on storm chasing tours as well as check the dates on all tours here to see which one fits you the best.

Write your own review of a storm chasing tour

Reviews of specific tour companies

If you want to find all the reviews from a specific tour operator, check out their page here on StormChasingUSA.com.

  • COD Storm Chasing - 0 reviews
  • Extreme Chase Tours - 17 reviews
  • Extreme Tornado Tours - 31 reviews
  • F5! Tornado Safaris - 1 reviews
  • Silver Lining Tours - 16 reviews
  • Storm Chase Tour Of The Great Plains - 0 reviews
  • Storm Chasing Adventure Tours - 0 reviews
  • StormChasingTour.com - 6 reviews
  • StormGroup Chasers - 26 reviews
  • Tempest Tours - 12 reviews
  • Tornadic Expeditions - 23 reviews
  • Tornado Adventures - 0 reviews
  • Twisted Sky Tours - 2 reviews
  • Most recent reviews

    This is a list of the most recently published reviews ordered by date. Note that there could be reviews of older tours as well.

    Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written September 16, 2019 by Daniel Itzigsohn

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    The tour was great in many aspects. I arrived to Oklahoma the day that weather in the US pretty much 'stopped' and was anxious to see what was going to happen during the trip and if something could be 'saved' out of this gloomy outlook. Erik, after reviewing the options, decided we should go to New Mexico (Roswell Area) since there (according to his words) "orography works magic". And so it was, we drove all the way to new Mexico to witness the most impressive Supercells (mostly LP, but also classic and HP). Nowhere else in the US anyone could find such weather during this time It is a testimony to Erik's professionalism and utter dedication that we could see such amazing weather. Given the situation, we could not ask for more. I certainly intend to join another tour in 2021 with Erik and his team. Highly recommended. The vans used for this tour were very comfortable, clean, well equipped and with very decent wifi and radar and weather displays. We drove hundreds of miles without tiring too much, due to the fact that the vans were comfortable, the captain seats in the second road were very nice, and that the group and Erik's team did everything to make us feel good and comfortable. the tour organization and nimbleness was also very good, and we could accommodate to changes required to pursue the weather (hotels, restaurants, etc.). Erik always looked for decent hotels and good restaurants, and the last two days, after weather stopped everywhere (even in New Mexico) we spent touring on our way back to Denver (from where we departed). We visited many great places and that was also a very pleasant and beautiful part of the trip We did not see a lot of tornadoes (there were very few), but we managed to see one landspout and some HP storm that 'hid' a tornado inside.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written September 8, 2019 by Christina Bird

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    This was my first storm chasing tour. While I have always had an appreciation for Mother Nature and what she can produce, the main reason I went on this tour was because my best friend couldn't stop bragging about it and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I can hand on heart say that this was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Beyond stunning supercells, lightening, hail, dust storms... No tornados this time but I was in no way disappointed. A truly fantastic experience that had me smiling and excited from the moment I woke up until the moment I crawled into bed. I 100% intend on coming back to do another tour in 2021 (already have big plans for 2020).

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written August 28, 2019 by Pam Chapman

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    I just loved my time on this tour!!! So much so, that I booked a spot on the 10 day tour in 2020 before this one even ended. Cannot get a better review than that surely. The team were amazing, informative, enthusiastic and so much fun. Could not recommend Erik and his team more.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Upslope Supercells - Tour 6 - 6 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written August 11, 2019 by George "jinx"

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    The tour was professional, The service was excellent, Nice tourguides with a lot of knowledge about the weather. Unfortunatly because of a coldfront we didn't see any tornado's, but I would recomment this operation to everybody. When the predictions were not good for the day, we went out for interesting alternatives that day.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Northern Expedition - Tour 8 - 10 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written August 8, 2019 by Shad E. Sanders

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    This was my first time to go on this type of tour. I am a member of the CoCoRah community and always wanted to do a storm tour. No we did not have tornadoes every day, nor did the storms always cooperate. However this tour focused on placing us in the best position each day. I was happy with how each day played out and happy with the storms that we chased and pursued. In between storms we checked out the local tourist places of interest and allowed the tour to be a foodie paradise sampling the local delis, shops, and places. I loved the fact that we ate local and not fast food every single time (we only ate fast food 4 or 5 times), we chased the major storms of the day and kept repositioning ourselves until the storm had nothing left to give.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 4 (2016) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written August 5, 2019 by Russ

    extreme tornado tours logo

    My wife and I lived my dream in May 2016. Travelling from the UK. I have followed storms all my life ( not literally) and chose extreme tornado tours because of the links with Reed Tiimmer although not exclusively because of this. My wife was worried she would be the only female and us the only Brits, not the case it was about 50/50 men women and about 7 Brits, some of who were veterans and chased before with ETT. I have to say it was the most amazing experience, we chased every day seeing some tornados and mega lightening storms. The ETT team were fantastic and made everybody feel welcome. Everything was explained before during and after, they really knew what they were doing. Storms and tornadoes are not guaranteed so dont expect them, the guys do their upmost to travel a lot of miles to get you the action. I definitely recommend ETT and once both of our daughters weddings are paid for we will be going again. Nick is a really nice guy. If you get scared in dangerous weather and driving situations then its not for you. You dont start the day till late on but can end up not getting back until early hours. Food can be on the go but they stopped at decent places when they could. All the hotel or motels we stayed at were good but its short notice so might not be top notch. When chasing it was important to listen when to stay or go. There are lots of photo opportunities and toilet stops.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 3 (2018) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written August 5, 2019 by Tom B

    extreme tornado tours logo

    I felt as though our tour was exactly where it needed to be for every possible storm during the week of our chase. We chased down one of best tornadoes of the year out of a multitude of storms that could have been followed that day. I was very well taken care of before, during and after the tour.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Prime Intensity - Tour 4 - 10 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written July 2, 2019 by Straya2019

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    I have now toured with Tornadic Expeditions and Erik Burns 3 times. I did a 10 day tour in 2018 and two 10 day tours in 2019 (Tour 4 and Tour 7). In fact, I booked my 2019 tour on the third day of my 2018 tour (as did all the other guests) which says it all - what better advertising is there. Erik is an excellent communicator. He keeps in regular contact in the lead up to the tour starting so you know all the logistical details and makes sure all the arrival arrangements are handled smoothly with no fuss. Once you are on tour, you would struggle to find someone more passionate about giving his guests a great experience. Erik is a patient teacher who is keen to share his amazing knowledge about weather, tornadoes (and local points of historical interest). He always enthusiastically answers guests' questions. Erik is absolutely committed to finding severe weather for his guests. He thinks nothing of driving 5000 miles in 10 days (across Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wyoming and Montana) to ensure that his guests have the best chance of witnessing tornadoes/severe weather/amazing super-cells/structure. There have been multiple occasions touring with Tornadic Expeditions when we were the only tour company on a tornado (often when it was the only tornado in the USA). If there is a tornado to see, rest assured Erik will find it. Not once have I missed a tornado or even been out of the best viewing position in 30 days of chasing with Erik. In 4 years touring with another company I saw 1 tornado. In 2 years touring with Tornadic Expeditions and Erik, I have seen 30 tornadoes including breathtaking tornados in Waldo Kansas and Golden City Missouri (tour 4 2019). The other company I toured with, does not get reviewed by stormchasing usa and probably for good reason. Having toured with another company, I can now properly appreciate just how fantastic Erik and Tornadic Expeditions are.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 3 (2019) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written June 23, 2019 by Shawn L

    extreme tornado tours logo

    Tour 3, 2019 was a great experience. The guides at ETT were extremely professional while also having fun and joking around during down times. There was a great balance here. I rode with Nick, and he would explain all sorts of things we were seeing, why they were like that, and why we were chasing or avoiding them. During stops, Kevin, Blake, and Ashleigh were always telling us about this or that, talking about past storms, what they were thinking about current storms and such. Very friendly, very funny, very fun. I learned a lot on this tour. We saw a great tornado in Charlie, Texas. The team tracked it carefully and knew exactly where to put us. A phenomenal experience. We also saw some incredible super cells with stunning structure, and some additional distant, but short tornados. They were on point with the storms. We always stayed at very nice, clean hotels. My biggest concern with hotels is cleanliness, and I had no issues with any of them. The lowest grade hotel we stayed at was a Model 6 one night out of necessity, and it was completely fine. All the other hotels were the kind I'd book for my other vacations. I can't wait to chase with ETT again in the future.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Mini Tour A - High Plains Tornado Tour (2019) by Tempest Tours

    Written June 16, 2019 by Mitch

    tempest tours tornado chasing

    The tour was mostly very good. We were put in very good positions to observe storms for all the chase days, even on one day where it was uncertain if any storms would even form. Not once did I feel like I was in danger. I also learned a good deal of information about storm structure, and reading and interpreting radar, analysis maps, and forecast models. There was an adequate amount of stops for food and the bathroom, they tried their hardest to cater to our needs. Nightly accommodations were much better than I expected, we stayed in low-end but reliable hotel/motel chains. And I loved the guests in the vans. They were all as eager to chase as I was, and I'm a pretty big severe weather geek myself. My only problem - although it's a very small one - was that I felt on down days they catered more to the photographers on the tour than guests with only a smartphone. Wildlife and abandoned houses are nice at first, but a non-photographer gets bored with them after awhile. Near the end of the second down day, half of us just wanted to get to the hotel already, but they kept stopping for the photographers to take pictures of everything. But that was a very minor inconvenience, I really enjoyed the tour and I'll probably chase with Tempest again in the future.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Prime Intensity - Tour 4 - 10 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written June 4, 2019 by Lauren Wingate

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    I really can’t say enough about my experience with Tornadic Expeditions. It far exceeded my expectations on multiple levels. My guides were not only highly knowledgeable, professional, educated and extremely experienced, they were loads of fun to be around! Over the years they have attracted like minded people as well, that have come year after year so it was like being with one big happy family! But the tour was perfectly sized! The perfect amount of people (not too big). Only two vans and only 4 guests per van. This is essential when choosing a tour company. Storm chasing can move super fast depending on the storm you are chasing, so being able to get moving at a split second can mean seeing a tornado or missing it. All it takes is one person to hold up a group, so the smaller the group, the better. Our group size was perfect! The vans were spacious and very comfortable. Each van had its own WiFi and sockets to charge phones, batteries, etc. There were also TV screens facing all the passengers that displayed what the guides were looking at on their radars. This was beyond helpful in understanding what chasers look for in a storm cell that sets one apart from the others. I loved how educational this was and how consistent our guides were with explaining everything we were seeing (on the screens and outside our windows). Tour 4 2019 had epic and record breaking weather, but that is not what made this tour incredible. Erik and Adam were able to pin point exactly where to go and get us to the cells that had the most potential for tornados. Half of the time, they were not even favorable on the radar projections. They used their own experience and knowledge of what these storm cells need to create “The Perfect Storm” that would actually produce tornados. And amazing ones at that! I’m beyond impressed! Some of these storms were tiny little blips on the radar that ended up producing 5 tornados that we were able to see. I was able to see every kind of tornado that exists and over half of them i had front row seats for! The whole experience was very emotional and moved me to tears on more then one occasion. I’ve never been in such awe of mother nature. I felt safe and happy the entire time and feel blessed I was able to make the right choice in choosing Tornadic Expeditions as my guide. No matter how lucky we were with the weather, these guys continued to chase into the night until there was nothing left to chase. Their energy was always so exciting to be around and never once did I feel like they were tired or needed a break. We were on the road for 10 days strait, chasing a dream i’d waited my whole life for! I can’t wait until next year! These guys are the best!

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour #1 (2019) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written June 3, 2019 by Matt H

    extreme tornado tours logo

    I gotta say this was the best adventure I've been on in my life. If you've ever seen the movie Twister...it's just like that minus the maps because they on our phones and laptops. We got to chase storms from West Kansas down to the West Texas oil fields and to Southern Oklahoma along the Red River. Here's a few of the things our tour got to see: storms forming off of the Rocky Mountains, the Twistex Memorial in El Reno, The Big Texan Steak Ranch & Brewery, supercells, Orphan Anvils, Hail-cores, Dust Devils, Prairie Dogs, a Rattlesnake, lots of lightning, the Red River, etc. One of the best things that came out of the trip was the camaraderie among the tour guests and guides. A lot of us formed friendships that didn't end with the trip. I could tell by the end of the first day that I was going to come back for another tour. I will caution those going on the trip for the first time that you won't see tornadoes every day (if you do consider yourself very lucky). Mother Nature is unpredictable and can change very quickly. We covered a lot of miles just to position ourselves for storms and sometimes it worked out and sometimes it didn't. Our tour didn't get our tornadoes until the end of our tour which was the highlight to cap-off our trip.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of May Madness - Tour 2 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

    Written June 3, 2019 by KN Perth

    tornadic expeditions storm chasing

    Went chasing on all the 7 days of the tour owner Erik Burns and his assistant Nick busby used their knowledge to make sure we had the best opportunity to see any extreme weather that could develop were able to witness tornadoes and watch supercell storms forming which I found to be totally amazing. The tour turned out to be all that I hoped for plus more it was fantastic.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 1 (2019) by Cloud 9 Tours

    Written May 31, 2019 by cafbrooks

    cloud 9 tours logo

    Been storm chasing with these guys and can highly recommend. Friendly, knowledgeable and professional throughout. Excellent forecasting and superb driving got us into the right places at the right times. Saw some spectacular thunderstorms and several tornadoes, always at a safe distance. On the occasional off days (where there are no storms present) we visited National Parks, Museums and even sampled some of the American nightlife. Plenty of good food, in local places when possible. If you've been thinking of going storm chasing, I'd say go for it, and Cloud 9 Tours would be a perfect choice.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 5 (2019) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written May 29, 2019 by Linda M

    extreme tornado tours logo

    My 10-day tornado tour with Extreme Tornado Tours (ETT) was an amazing adventure. Our tour saw 10 tornadoes and multiple other storms. Accomodations were well thought out and comfortable. Hotels had amenities like free breakfast and fitness center. Lunch stops were fast food - makes perfect sense. Dinner was often a nice sit-down with the entire group at the end of a long, successful chase day. The tour director/staff took time to get to know the guests and to have the guests get to know each other. Very nice touch. I made friends from all over the world on our tour. We had 2 'down' days during our tour with no storms to chase. ETT planned excursions for us including a visit to Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge where we saw bison and prairie dogs. The process to book a tour was easy. Communication after booking and before the tour was clear and very helpful for planning travel, what to pack, etc.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 5 (2019) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written May 29, 2019 by Tmk62

    extreme tornado tours logo

    My sixth year with ETT. There will be a seventh in 2020. Can’t overstate how professional and squared away ETT is. It is well run, and not overcrowded. The thing with chasing is that the more people you are chasing with the more complicated it becomes. ETT keeps it personal and comfortable. They know how to find the storms and keep you close, but safe. It’s an experience unlike any other. They know what they are doing.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour #1 (2007) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written May 17, 2019 by Peter Smetana

    extreme tornado tours logo

    Tour was everything I expected. Guides got us to storms. Saw 1 tornado. Many supercell cloud formations. Van was comfortable and had electrical outlets to recharge electronics.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour #1 (2007) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written May 7, 2019 by Dave

    extreme tornado tours logo

    This tour went as well as it could. It was fun learing how storm chasers go about their business, and we were always kept in the loop about what we were trying to do that day. The motels were nice and there were good restaurant choices available.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour #1 (2019) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written May 6, 2019 by Bekah

    extreme tornado tours logo

    Our tour got to see several amazing weather scenarios. They did a great job of getting us to what they thought would bring the best experiences! From hail, a couple of tornadoes and one up close, to amazing lightning set ups, and also saw a mothership formation.

    Read the entire review here.


    Review of Tour 3 (2019) by Extreme Tornado Tours

    Written May 6, 2019 by core

    extreme tornado tours logo

    These guys are awesome! Nick, the owner, was especially accommodating to me since I had to switch dates (and tours) the last minute. He was great to deal with and very understanding with my scheduling dilemma. Extreme Tornado Tours (ETT) had great vans, expert chasers, and really got us into the heart of the storms. They seem really aggressive about getting you up close-- and they didn't disappoint! But Nick was big on safety and made sure everyone understood and followed the rules. He even spotted a rattle snake for us on the side of the road before anyone stepped on it 😉 Hotels were great, plenty of pit stops for bathroom breaks (when not in emergency chase mode), and great choice of non-chase activities and restaurants during down periods. I would definitely chase again with ETT!!!

    Read the entire review here.


    Write a review

    The reviews are an important part of providing feedback to others and helping them to choose a tour. It is very important that the reviews are honest and describes the tour operator, tour guide, vehicles etc without being biased by the weather.

    In order to write a review you must, obviously, have been on the tour you review. You cannot write reviews of tour companies for which you are associated with, for example if you are part of the tour companies staff.

    You can find the reviews under each tour operator or each tour. If you cannot find a specific review that was previously visible on StormChasingUSA.com, try searching under the un-validated reviews.

    Write your own review of a storm chasing tour