Reviews of storm chasing tours

StormChasingUSA.com has the most reviews of storm chasing tour companies on the web and is THE place to go to read reviews of the tour companies before you book your tour. You can also compare prices on storm chasing tours as well as check the dates on all tours here to see which one fits you the best.

Reviews of specific tour companies

If you want to find all the reviews from a specific tour operator, check out their page here on StormChasingUSA.com.

Most recent reviews

This is a list of the most recently published reviews ordered by date. Note that there could be reviews of older tours as well.

Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written August 28, 2022 by Will

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I went on two tours this year. One in late May and one in late June. Although the outlook wasn’t the best for both tours, we still managed to see four tornados and tons of beautiful supercells. One day, we were on the only supercell in the country and we were the only chasers there! Erik always manages to get us into the perfect spot. The tours are very comfortable with only 4 guests per van. If you ever need to stop for anything, he will gladly stop. You don’t just get a wonderful tour and an awesome experience, you get lifelong friends. All in all I would 100% recommend Tornadic Expeditions.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2007) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 5, 2022 by Bristow Images

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I joined Tornadic Expeditions on Tour 6, 2022 after booking with different tour groups the last 2 years. I am so glad I found this company, Erik and his team did everything that his website mentioned would be done, and I am looking forward to the trip that I have booked next year with them!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Northern Cyclone Trek Tour (Tour 7) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 5, 2022 by Matt H

extreme tornado tours logo

This was an awesome tour with an awesome tour group and awesome guides. The week's outlook wasn't looking that great, but they still managed to find us some great storms to chase, and even a tornado as luck would have it. On the days where there was nothing to chase, they did great with finding us cool things to do and places to visit, ranging from national attractions like Mt Rushmore and Badlands National Park to more local places like Carhenge and Chimney Rock. Hotels were overall pretty good, taking into account the lack of availability around and prices these days (thanks to Trey for being the self-described hotel snob and helping keep us in nice places). The arguably worst place we were in was a Motel 6 because nothing else was available, but it was actually a pretty nice Motel 6. Just would recommend to avoid hotels right across the street from train tracks next time (like that one in Thedford). Restaurant choice was overall great too - some very very nice restaurant choices and a minimum of fast-food stops except when we needed to be quick. Even if we sometimes didn't get in til late, usually the tour days started fairly late at 10 or 11am (even noon, once), so there was no need to stress out about getting up early. Overall, it was a great tour and I got to meet some great people, take a lot of great pictures, and make a lot of great memories. Definitely thinking to come back, maybe in 2024 (2023 tours are already fully booked, that's how in-demand these guys are). Even if we had gotten no storms at all, I think it would have been a pretty fun week-long getaway through the northern plains.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 5, 2022 by Rhian.Wales.UK

extreme tornado tours logo

I went on my first tour with ETT in June 2022; it was something I'd wanted to do since being a child and I had researched my tour company in great detail prior to booking. Chasing with ETT was everything I wanted it to be and so so much more! During the tour I saw my first and second tornadoes near Dorrance, KS. We also saw some stunning supercell structures, beautiful lightning and some good hail. We stayed in good hotels; even when we were located in the backend of nowhere! We ate like kings throughout the week and on days where the weather was uneventful we enjoyed trips to places of interest throughout the US. As a single woman travelling from the UK it was daunting but I need not have worried, being on the tour felt strangely like home. I felt safe, comfortable and cared for. I honestly cannot recommend ETT enough, it was a truly magical experience and I cannot wait to do it again, again and again.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 4, 2022 by Jen ETT 2022#7

extreme tornado tours logo

My tour was great! ETT exceeded my expectations with friendliness, knowledgeability, and a passion for the chase. Extremely responsive to emails, calls, and texts. Went out of their way to ensure each guest felt welcomed, which was amazing as I was a newbie to the whole experience. I highly recommended ETT to friends and family members before, during, and after the tour. The only thing I would have changed: For an extra $15-20/night, our group could have slept better at night knowing the rooms were cleaner/more modern.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Laura

extreme tornado tours logo

ETT went beyond trying to get us to active storm locations, no matter where. Dependable and roomy .

Read the entire review here.


Review of High Risk Excursion Tour (Tour 5) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Laura

extreme tornado tours logo

ETT went out of their way to find storms for us, and the van was roomy and everyone had a window seat, air conditioning and plenty of water and bathroom breaks.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Canadian Prairies (2022) by Silver Lining Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Storm fan

silver lining storm chasing tours logo

I had a great time and felt that they took our safety seriously. I learned a tremendous amount and found the accommodations were comfortable. We saw some fantastic storms! They were quite upfront that they were following the current published COVID protocols, which was no masking. They were also upfront that they did not check vaccination status etc. Many of our van came home with COVID. It would have been reassuring to know if they began testing the incoming group as some were staying on. I felt our tour group as a whole should have been informed that several had ended up sick and COVID+, letting them know they had likely been exposed.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 19, 2022 by Kim Watson

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my 4th year chasing with Tornadic Expeditions and it didn't disappoint! 2 tornadoes and baseball size hail made for an exciting time. Have already booked for next year and the years to come! Thank you to all the guides for the wonderful time and huge thanks to Erik Burns who again outdone himself with making my time on tour one to remember.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 19, 2022 by Nsomnya

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

One of the greatest experiences of my life. Me and my son booked with them and learned so much. They explain everything from why we are chasing an area to how the storm is working. Met some great folks as well.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 17, 2022 by Dominique T.

extreme tornado tours logo

I had a great adventure with ETT this year. I got to visit 4 new states this year. Though the storms weren't playing nice with us, ETT still makes it a great vacation. I have full trust in the team with their weather decisions. I love the family-like atmosphere. The other guests in the van also made it a fun trip. I'm an introvert at home but when I go on an ETT tour, it doesn't seem like it. Thank you again Nick, Trey, Kevin, and Alec for a wonderful vacation. It was also my first time meeting Trey and Alec. They are fantastic!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 17, 2022 by Mitchell S.

extreme tornado tours logo

Extreme Tornado Tours provides a first class experience. My wife and I were on tour #3, which was from May 6th-14th. We loved every minute of it. Nick, Kevin, Trey and Alec were very friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. They took the time to answer any questions we had, and also made everything fun and easy to learn along the way. They hold true to their motto “Be There” They out us where the storms were for the entire week.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 2, 2021 by Ray

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my fifth time to tour with Tornadic Expeditions - and as usual - it was a week-long adventure filled blast! The point of chasing storms of course is to find some - and we did. We found amazing storms every day except the last day - so we took advantage of the clear skies in our departure city and did some late night star gazing with an amazing meteor shower and some stunning stellar photography! Our group was perfectly sized at 8 guests and 3 guides. I'm always amazed at how wonderful the people are - a thirst for nature adventure draws a diverse group of fascinating people from all over everywhere. I've already booked tour 8 for next year. We didn't encounter any severe problems. The service level was excellent

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 2, 2021 by ETT

extreme tornado tours logo

Tour was great. Second time I went. Saw 1 on first day and 3 on last day.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 2, 2021 by Frank Parker

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

We had Tour 3 on a very challenging week to chase. Not much was going on anywhere. We also had quite a few people because of the tour cancellations of 2020. Because of the lack of activity these guys really had to bust their asses to find storms to chase. We covered 3000 miles in 7 days through 5 states. I thought they did an excellent job with what we had to work with. I found the experience to be very enjoyable as I got to see a lot of country I had never been to. They always found great places to dine and comfortable motels. Plus tge two Toyota vans and the rental Chrysler van performed flawlessly.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Upslope Supercells - Tour 6 - 6 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 24, 2021 by cokersmoker

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The 6 days I spent with Tornadic Expeditions ripping across the Plains chasing tornadoes was one of the most intense, unforgettable experiences of my life. Eric’s passion for what he does and his great depth of weather knowledge is truly impressive. He is also a very good driver and never seems tire. I swear that man is a force of nature, and he is totally funnel- visioned (couldn’t resist that). There were 3 tornadoes in the US on 6/10/21. Eric, and Nick, his talented copilot, navigated our trusty and comfortable van to all 3. Though grueling sometimes - we drove 2646 miles in 6 days - every single one of those miles was worth it. To have stood before the fearsome force of these tornadoes is something that will be forever burned in my brain pan. Five stars!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 18, 2021 by DannyDoMore

extreme tornado tours logo

The tour was great. The first 4 days were packed with amazing weather and the team got us to all the action we could get to. Unfortunately the weather kind of left us with blue skies for the rest of the tour, but that's the risk you take when trying to book for weather; it's unpredictable. But the team made the best of it for us and took us on a fun road trip showing us some unique sights and cool eats. At the end they had a cookout for us and we watched TWISTER, which was a lot of fun too. 🙂

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 24, 2021 by Tom

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I was extremely pleased with the tour. The guides studied the weather situation at the end, the beginning and through out each day. We covered a lot of ground in order to get to the storms. We were positioned at the storms where we could see the dynamics but care was taken to make sure that we were safe. The tour was conducted professionally but was kept fun and exciting. Everyone was treated in a friendly and respectful manner. All questions were answered in a way that could be understood by both experienced chasers and novices.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 21, 2021 by Jenn Racki

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This tour was absolutely amazing! It was kind of a down weather week but the tour guides always found us whatever severe weather there was. The one day that we saw a funnel, we were following the only tornado warned stormed in the country that day. The vans were clean and everyone had plenty of room. The hotels we stayed at were always nice. There was plenty of communication prior to the tour, details of the tour were very clear and we were also sent a list of things to bring which was very helpful. I will absolutely be taking another tour with this company.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 18, 2021 by Ianw33

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The tour was a great experience. The amount of combined storm chasing experience between the tour guides allowed me to learn a ton about chasing and storm structure/development. Service before/during/after the tour were top notch. When I emailed Erik questions regarding the tours before I scheduled, he answered promptly. The vans used were comfortable, and I appreciated the fact that they were small vans, not the big 15 person vans I saw elsewhere, it allowed for a more personal tour feeling. The team was also great at organizing food and hotel provisions. The weathers conditions were not ideal for widespread development of severe storms during the tour. With that said, the team did a great job of forecasting and finding the diamonds in the rough and were able to place us near multiple severe warned (and one tornado warned) storms. I plan on attending another tour in the next year or 2.

Read the entire review here.


Write a review

The reviews are an important part of providing feedback to others and helping them to choose a tour. It is very important that the reviews are honest and describes the tour operator, tour guide, vehicles etc without being biased by the weather.

In order to write a review you must, obviously, have been on the tour you review. You cannot write reviews of tour companies for which you are associated with, for example if you are part of the tour companies staff.

You can find the reviews under each tour operator or each tour. If you cannot find a specific review that was previously visible on StormChasingUSA.com, try searching under the un-validated reviews.

Write your own review of a storm chasing tour