Reviews of storm chasing tours

StormChasingUSA.com has the most reviews of storm chasing tour companies on the web and is THE place to go to read reviews of the tour companies before you book your tour. You can also compare prices on storm chasing tours as well as check the dates on all tours here to see which one fits you the best.

Reviews of specific tour companies

If you want to find all the reviews from a specific tour operator, check out their page here on StormChasingUSA.com.

Most recent reviews

This is a list of the most recently published reviews ordered by date. Note that there could be reviews of older tours as well.

Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Laura

extreme tornado tours logo

ETT went beyond trying to get us to active storm locations, no matter where. Dependable and roomy .

Read the entire review here.


Review of High Risk Excursion Tour (Tour 5) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Laura

extreme tornado tours logo

ETT went out of their way to find storms for us, and the van was roomy and everyone had a window seat, air conditioning and plenty of water and bathroom breaks.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Canadian Prairies (2022) by Silver Lining Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Storm fan

silver lining storm chasing tours logo

I had a great time and felt that they took our safety seriously. I learned a tremendous amount and found the accommodations were comfortable. We saw some fantastic storms! They were quite upfront that they were following the current published COVID protocols, which was no masking. They were also upfront that they did not check vaccination status etc. Many of our van came home with COVID. It would have been reassuring to know if they began testing the incoming group as some were staying on. I felt our tour group as a whole should have been informed that several had ended up sick and COVID+, letting them know they had likely been exposed.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 19, 2022 by Kim Watson

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my 4th year chasing with Tornadic Expeditions and it didn't disappoint! 2 tornadoes and baseball size hail made for an exciting time. Have already booked for next year and the years to come! Thank you to all the guides for the wonderful time and huge thanks to Erik Burns who again outdone himself with making my time on tour one to remember.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 19, 2022 by Nsomnya

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

One of the greatest experiences of my life. Me and my son booked with them and learned so much. They explain everything from why we are chasing an area to how the storm is working. Met some great folks as well.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 17, 2022 by Dominique T.

extreme tornado tours logo

I had a great adventure with ETT this year. I got to visit 4 new states this year. Though the storms weren't playing nice with us, ETT still makes it a great vacation. I have full trust in the team with their weather decisions. I love the family-like atmosphere. The other guests in the van also made it a fun trip. I'm an introvert at home but when I go on an ETT tour, it doesn't seem like it. Thank you again Nick, Trey, Kevin, and Alec for a wonderful vacation. It was also my first time meeting Trey and Alec. They are fantastic!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 17, 2022 by Mitchell S.

extreme tornado tours logo

Extreme Tornado Tours provides a first class experience. My wife and I were on tour #3, which was from May 6th-14th. We loved every minute of it. Nick, Kevin, Trey and Alec were very friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. They took the time to answer any questions we had, and also made everything fun and easy to learn along the way. They hold true to their motto “Be There” They out us where the storms were for the entire week.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 2, 2021 by Ray

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my fifth time to tour with Tornadic Expeditions - and as usual - it was a week-long adventure filled blast! The point of chasing storms of course is to find some - and we did. We found amazing storms every day except the last day - so we took advantage of the clear skies in our departure city and did some late night star gazing with an amazing meteor shower and some stunning stellar photography! Our group was perfectly sized at 8 guests and 3 guides. I'm always amazed at how wonderful the people are - a thirst for nature adventure draws a diverse group of fascinating people from all over everywhere. I've already booked tour 8 for next year. We didn't encounter any severe problems. The service level was excellent

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 2, 2021 by ETT

extreme tornado tours logo

Tour was great. Second time I went. Saw 1 on first day and 3 on last day.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 2, 2021 by Frank Parker

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

We had Tour 3 on a very challenging week to chase. Not much was going on anywhere. We also had quite a few people because of the tour cancellations of 2020. Because of the lack of activity these guys really had to bust their asses to find storms to chase. We covered 3000 miles in 7 days through 5 states. I thought they did an excellent job with what we had to work with. I found the experience to be very enjoyable as I got to see a lot of country I had never been to. They always found great places to dine and comfortable motels. Plus tge two Toyota vans and the rental Chrysler van performed flawlessly.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Upslope Supercells - Tour 6 - 6 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 24, 2021 by cokersmoker

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The 6 days I spent with Tornadic Expeditions ripping across the Plains chasing tornadoes was one of the most intense, unforgettable experiences of my life. Eric’s passion for what he does and his great depth of weather knowledge is truly impressive. He is also a very good driver and never seems tire. I swear that man is a force of nature, and he is totally funnel- visioned (couldn’t resist that). There were 3 tornadoes in the US on 6/10/21. Eric, and Nick, his talented copilot, navigated our trusty and comfortable van to all 3. Though grueling sometimes - we drove 2646 miles in 6 days - every single one of those miles was worth it. To have stood before the fearsome force of these tornadoes is something that will be forever burned in my brain pan. Five stars!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 18, 2021 by DannyDoMore

extreme tornado tours logo

The tour was great. The first 4 days were packed with amazing weather and the team got us to all the action we could get to. Unfortunately the weather kind of left us with blue skies for the rest of the tour, but that's the risk you take when trying to book for weather; it's unpredictable. But the team made the best of it for us and took us on a fun road trip showing us some unique sights and cool eats. At the end they had a cookout for us and we watched TWISTER, which was a lot of fun too. 🙂

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 24, 2021 by Tom

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I was extremely pleased with the tour. The guides studied the weather situation at the end, the beginning and through out each day. We covered a lot of ground in order to get to the storms. We were positioned at the storms where we could see the dynamics but care was taken to make sure that we were safe. The tour was conducted professionally but was kept fun and exciting. Everyone was treated in a friendly and respectful manner. All questions were answered in a way that could be understood by both experienced chasers and novices.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 21, 2021 by Jenn Racki

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This tour was absolutely amazing! It was kind of a down weather week but the tour guides always found us whatever severe weather there was. The one day that we saw a funnel, we were following the only tornado warned stormed in the country that day. The vans were clean and everyone had plenty of room. The hotels we stayed at were always nice. There was plenty of communication prior to the tour, details of the tour were very clear and we were also sent a list of things to bring which was very helpful. I will absolutely be taking another tour with this company.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 18, 2021 by Ianw33

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The tour was a great experience. The amount of combined storm chasing experience between the tour guides allowed me to learn a ton about chasing and storm structure/development. Service before/during/after the tour were top notch. When I emailed Erik questions regarding the tours before I scheduled, he answered promptly. The vans used were comfortable, and I appreciated the fact that they were small vans, not the big 15 person vans I saw elsewhere, it allowed for a more personal tour feeling. The team was also great at organizing food and hotel provisions. The weathers conditions were not ideal for widespread development of severe storms during the tour. With that said, the team did a great job of forecasting and finding the diamonds in the rough and were able to place us near multiple severe warned (and one tornado warned) storms. I plan on attending another tour in the next year or 2.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 18, 2021 by tornado one

extreme tornado tours logo

Even though the weather produced a cold front that extended down to the Mexico border, the guides seem to navigate us to a storm on all chasing days capable of producing a tornado Day 1, Day 3 Day 9 and Day 10. Although the tornado never touched down, there was no lack of excitement. One negative was that on the down days, the our guides normally did not ask the guests for a consensus of available tour sites, only just that we are going. We stopped at a casino, Greensburg, The Riverwalk and Couple famous restaurants on our travel days. All and all they did a good job finding things to do. Being fair, I don’t think any of the other tours operate much different than this one. All guides were approachable, they were friendly and ready to go when it was time to chase a storm.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2007) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 17, 2021 by BOGAN

extreme tornado tours logo

I recently completed ETT 2021tour 2. Best vacation I've ever had. Two great guides who knew the ropes and were also just fun to hang out with. On days when weather was available they got us into it (four tornadoes and baseball size hail, all up close and personal, but never unsafe). We even had loads of fun on the days the weather didn't cooperate. Great weather briefing every morning. And they knew all manner of amazing places to eat.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 3, 2020 by Skysister

extreme tornado tours logo

Our tour guides bent over backwards to find storms, answer all questions, and were very knowledgeable. The van was well equipped, and comfortable.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 3, 2020 by Justin N.

extreme tornado tours logo

I have gone on 2 tours with this company and will likely go on more tours with them. I had similar experiences both times. This tour was great. Expect to stay in hotels like Comfort Inn, motel 6, and super 8's. They provided a ton of cold water for guests. This is a very professional tour group and I highly recommend them. I have even reached out to ETT when I've done some chasing on my own and they were willing to help point me in the right direction. Customer service is really great at ETT. Dont expect them to do this, but both of my tours had a chance of a good chase just beyond the set end date of the tour, and they worked it out so we could chase it without charge.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour 6 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 10, 2020 by Jennyt71

extreme tornado tours logo

I joined ETT for Tour 6 this year. Before the tour started, I had several communications back and forth with the company and I was always answered quickly and in a friendly manner. Since there were so many unknowns this year, I really appreciated ETT keeping me in the loop with all changes and updates to their schedules and conditions with tours. Our group was smaller because of Covid restrictions - but that made it better for us. We had 4 guests and 2 guides for the week. We all became close friends and I learned so much from Kevin's weather updates/briefings throughout the trip. We saw amazing structure and giant (gorilla) hail but mother nature wasnt with us for tornadoes. We were right under the tornado warned cell that was churning and lowering - but never produced. Kevin and Alec put us right ON the storms each time - they knew exactly where to go if it was going to happen. We did over 3500 miles across 6 states and had an absolute blast the entire time. We chased up until the absolute last minute - our guides never gave up or called in early to stay in a town or near a convenient spot. Our van was clean, comfortable and had usb and conventional plugs. Everyone was able to hear the plans, updates and why we were going one direction or another. The hotels we stayed at were nice (all Wyndham owned), clean and offered amenities such as wifi and hairdryers. (Most, if not all, would have had breakfast - but that was not available due to Covid restrictions). By the end of the tour, the hotels had their pools open. We ate at great local spots that the guides knew about from past experiences. They were always mindful of what we would like or if we had any restrictions. Our down days or day with little driving let us visit beautiful parks like Sioux Falls, the Badlands and Mount Rushmore. We were able to stop in Wakita for the Twister Museum too (that was more than just a museum, speaking to the owner and seeing her home movies and listening to her stories was great). All I can say is that I will definitely be back. The guides were incredibly friendly, I was lucky to get with 3 other guests that couldnt have been nicer, the driving was safe and we visited states I had never seen before.. and it was exciting. It went by way too fast. I love car trips - so having Alec and Kevin take care of the driving, navigation and hotel details made it even better. Experiencing the massive hail was amazing - never have seen anything like it. I would highly recommend ETT for their communication before/during/after the tour, the guides' knowledge and professionalism and how they treat their guests.

Read the entire review here.


Write a review

The reviews are an important part of providing feedback to others and helping them to choose a tour. It is very important that the reviews are honest and describes the tour operator, tour guide, vehicles etc without being biased by the weather.

In order to write a review you must, obviously, have been on the tour you review. You cannot write reviews of tour companies for which you are associated with, for example if you are part of the tour companies staff.

You can find the reviews under each tour operator or each tour. If you cannot find a specific review that was previously visible on StormChasingUSA.com, try searching under the un-validated reviews.

Write your own review of a storm chasing tour