Reviews of storm chasing tours

StormChasingUSA.com has the most reviews of storm chasing tour companies on the web and is THE place to go to read reviews of the tour companies before you book your tour. You can also compare prices on storm chasing tours as well as check the dates on all tours here to see which one fits you the best.

Reviews of specific tour companies

If you want to find all the reviews from a specific tour operator, check out their page here on StormChasingUSA.com.

Most recent reviews

This is a list of the most recently published reviews ordered by date. Note that there could be reviews of older tours as well.

Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 2, 2021 by Ray

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my fifth time to tour with Tornadic Expeditions - and as usual - it was a week-long adventure filled blast! The point of chasing storms of course is to find some - and we did. We found amazing storms every day except the last day - so we took advantage of the clear skies in our departure city and did some late night star gazing with an amazing meteor shower and some stunning stellar photography! Our group was perfectly sized at 8 guests and 3 guides. I'm always amazed at how wonderful the people are - a thirst for nature adventure draws a diverse group of fascinating people from all over everywhere. I've already booked tour 8 for next year. We didn't encounter any severe problems. The service level was excellent

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 2, 2021 by ETT

extreme tornado tours logo

Tour was great. Second time I went. Saw 1 on first day and 3 on last day.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 2, 2021 by Frank Parker

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

We had Tour 3 on a very challenging week to chase. Not much was going on anywhere. We also had quite a few people because of the tour cancellations of 2020. Because of the lack of activity these guys really had to bust their asses to find storms to chase. We covered 3000 miles in 7 days through 5 states. I thought they did an excellent job with what we had to work with. I found the experience to be very enjoyable as I got to see a lot of country I had never been to. They always found great places to dine and comfortable motels. Plus tge two Toyota vans and the rental Chrysler van performed flawlessly.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Upslope Supercells - Tour 6 - 6 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written June 24, 2021 by cokersmoker

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The 6 days I spent with Tornadic Expeditions ripping across the Plains chasing tornadoes was one of the most intense, unforgettable experiences of my life. Eric’s passion for what he does and his great depth of weather knowledge is truly impressive. He is also a very good driver and never seems tire. I swear that man is a force of nature, and he is totally funnel- visioned (couldn’t resist that). There were 3 tornadoes in the US on 6/10/21. Eric, and Nick, his talented copilot, navigated our trusty and comfortable van to all 3. Though grueling sometimes - we drove 2646 miles in 6 days - every single one of those miles was worth it. To have stood before the fearsome force of these tornadoes is something that will be forever burned in my brain pan. Five stars!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 18, 2021 by DannyDoMore

extreme tornado tours logo

The tour was great. The first 4 days were packed with amazing weather and the team got us to all the action we could get to. Unfortunately the weather kind of left us with blue skies for the rest of the tour, but that's the risk you take when trying to book for weather; it's unpredictable. But the team made the best of it for us and took us on a fun road trip showing us some unique sights and cool eats. At the end they had a cookout for us and we watched TWISTER, which was a lot of fun too. 🙂

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 24, 2021 by Tom

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I was extremely pleased with the tour. The guides studied the weather situation at the end, the beginning and through out each day. We covered a lot of ground in order to get to the storms. We were positioned at the storms where we could see the dynamics but care was taken to make sure that we were safe. The tour was conducted professionally but was kept fun and exciting. Everyone was treated in a friendly and respectful manner. All questions were answered in a way that could be understood by both experienced chasers and novices.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 21, 2021 by Jenn Racki

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This tour was absolutely amazing! It was kind of a down weather week but the tour guides always found us whatever severe weather there was. The one day that we saw a funnel, we were following the only tornado warned stormed in the country that day. The vans were clean and everyone had plenty of room. The hotels we stayed at were always nice. There was plenty of communication prior to the tour, details of the tour were very clear and we were also sent a list of things to bring which was very helpful. I will absolutely be taking another tour with this company.

Read the entire review here.


Review of The Extreme - Tour 3 - 7 Days (2021) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written May 18, 2021 by Ianw33

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The tour was a great experience. The amount of combined storm chasing experience between the tour guides allowed me to learn a ton about chasing and storm structure/development. Service before/during/after the tour were top notch. When I emailed Erik questions regarding the tours before I scheduled, he answered promptly. The vans used were comfortable, and I appreciated the fact that they were small vans, not the big 15 person vans I saw elsewhere, it allowed for a more personal tour feeling. The team was also great at organizing food and hotel provisions. The weathers conditions were not ideal for widespread development of severe storms during the tour. With that said, the team did a great job of forecasting and finding the diamonds in the rough and were able to place us near multiple severe warned (and one tornado warned) storms. I plan on attending another tour in the next year or 2.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2021) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 18, 2021 by tornado one

extreme tornado tours logo

Even though the weather produced a cold front that extended down to the Mexico border, the guides seem to navigate us to a storm on all chasing days capable of producing a tornado Day 1, Day 3 Day 9 and Day 10. Although the tornado never touched down, there was no lack of excitement. One negative was that on the down days, the our guides normally did not ask the guests for a consensus of available tour sites, only just that we are going. We stopped at a casino, Greensburg, The Riverwalk and Couple famous restaurants on our travel days. All and all they did a good job finding things to do. Being fair, I don’t think any of the other tours operate much different than this one. All guides were approachable, they were friendly and ready to go when it was time to chase a storm.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2007) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written May 17, 2021 by BOGAN

extreme tornado tours logo

I recently completed ETT 2021tour 2. Best vacation I've ever had. Two great guides who knew the ropes and were also just fun to hang out with. On days when weather was available they got us into it (four tornadoes and baseball size hail, all up close and personal, but never unsafe). We even had loads of fun on the days the weather didn't cooperate. Great weather briefing every morning. And they knew all manner of amazing places to eat.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 3, 2020 by Skysister

extreme tornado tours logo

Our tour guides bent over backwards to find storms, answer all questions, and were very knowledgeable. The van was well equipped, and comfortable.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 3, 2020 by Justin N.

extreme tornado tours logo

I have gone on 2 tours with this company and will likely go on more tours with them. I had similar experiences both times. This tour was great. Expect to stay in hotels like Comfort Inn, motel 6, and super 8's. They provided a ton of cold water for guests. This is a very professional tour group and I highly recommend them. I have even reached out to ETT when I've done some chasing on my own and they were willing to help point me in the right direction. Customer service is really great at ETT. Dont expect them to do this, but both of my tours had a chance of a good chase just beyond the set end date of the tour, and they worked it out so we could chase it without charge.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour 6 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 10, 2020 by Jennyt71

extreme tornado tours logo

I joined ETT for Tour 6 this year. Before the tour started, I had several communications back and forth with the company and I was always answered quickly and in a friendly manner. Since there were so many unknowns this year, I really appreciated ETT keeping me in the loop with all changes and updates to their schedules and conditions with tours. Our group was smaller because of Covid restrictions - but that made it better for us. We had 4 guests and 2 guides for the week. We all became close friends and I learned so much from Kevin's weather updates/briefings throughout the trip. We saw amazing structure and giant (gorilla) hail but mother nature wasnt with us for tornadoes. We were right under the tornado warned cell that was churning and lowering - but never produced. Kevin and Alec put us right ON the storms each time - they knew exactly where to go if it was going to happen. We did over 3500 miles across 6 states and had an absolute blast the entire time. We chased up until the absolute last minute - our guides never gave up or called in early to stay in a town or near a convenient spot. Our van was clean, comfortable and had usb and conventional plugs. Everyone was able to hear the plans, updates and why we were going one direction or another. The hotels we stayed at were nice (all Wyndham owned), clean and offered amenities such as wifi and hairdryers. (Most, if not all, would have had breakfast - but that was not available due to Covid restrictions). By the end of the tour, the hotels had their pools open. We ate at great local spots that the guides knew about from past experiences. They were always mindful of what we would like or if we had any restrictions. Our down days or day with little driving let us visit beautiful parks like Sioux Falls, the Badlands and Mount Rushmore. We were able to stop in Wakita for the Twister Museum too (that was more than just a museum, speaking to the owner and seeing her home movies and listening to her stories was great). All I can say is that I will definitely be back. The guides were incredibly friendly, I was lucky to get with 3 other guests that couldnt have been nicer, the driving was safe and we visited states I had never seen before.. and it was exciting. It went by way too fast. I love car trips - so having Alec and Kevin take care of the driving, navigation and hotel details made it even better. Experiencing the massive hail was amazing - never have seen anything like it. I would highly recommend ETT for their communication before/during/after the tour, the guides' knowledge and professionalism and how they treat their guests.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour 5 (2020) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 8, 2020 by GBeverly

extreme tornado tours logo

This was my first storm chasing tour. It was something I have always wanted to do and has given me the motivation to finish college and pursue my degree in Meteorology and live my dream. The sights and storms are indescribable. Even though we didn't see condensed tornadoes due to how stingy the weather patterns have been this year, the incredible structure and hail made up for it. I will definitely be going again!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written September 16, 2019 by Daniel Itzigsohn

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The tour was great in many aspects. I arrived to Oklahoma the day that weather in the US pretty much 'stopped' and was anxious to see what was going to happen during the trip and if something could be 'saved' out of this gloomy outlook. Erik, after reviewing the options, decided we should go to New Mexico (Roswell Area) since there (according to his words) "orography works magic". And so it was, we drove all the way to new Mexico to witness the most impressive Supercells (mostly LP, but also classic and HP). Nowhere else in the US anyone could find such weather during this time It is a testimony to Erik's professionalism and utter dedication that we could see such amazing weather. Given the situation, we could not ask for more. I certainly intend to join another tour in 2021 with Erik and his team. Highly recommended. The vans used for this tour were very comfortable, clean, well equipped and with very decent wifi and radar and weather displays. We drove hundreds of miles without tiring too much, due to the fact that the vans were comfortable, the captain seats in the second road were very nice, and that the group and Erik's team did everything to make us feel good and comfortable. the tour organization and nimbleness was also very good, and we could accommodate to changes required to pursue the weather (hotels, restaurants, etc.). Erik always looked for decent hotels and good restaurants, and the last two days, after weather stopped everywhere (even in New Mexico) we spent touring on our way back to Denver (from where we departed). We visited many great places and that was also a very pleasant and beautiful part of the trip We did not see a lot of tornadoes (there were very few), but we managed to see one landspout and some HP storm that 'hid' a tornado inside.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written September 8, 2019 by Christina Bird

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my first storm chasing tour. While I have always had an appreciation for Mother Nature and what she can produce, the main reason I went on this tour was because my best friend couldn't stop bragging about it and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I can hand on heart say that this was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. Beyond stunning supercells, lightening, hail, dust storms... No tornados this time but I was in no way disappointed. A truly fantastic experience that had me smiling and excited from the moment I woke up until the moment I crawled into bed. I 100% intend on coming back to do another tour in 2021 (already have big plans for 2020).

Read the entire review here.


Review of Extreme Instability* - Tour 5 - 7 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written August 28, 2019 by Pam Chapman

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I just loved my time on this tour!!! So much so, that I booked a spot on the 10 day tour in 2020 before this one even ended. Cannot get a better review than that surely. The team were amazing, informative, enthusiastic and so much fun. Could not recommend Erik and his team more.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Upslope Supercells - Tour 6 - 6 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written August 11, 2019 by George "jinx"

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

The tour was professional, The service was excellent, Nice tourguides with a lot of knowledge about the weather. Unfortunatly because of a coldfront we didn't see any tornado's, but I would recomment this operation to everybody. When the predictions were not good for the day, we went out for interesting alternatives that day.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Northern Expedition - Tour 8 - 10 Days (2019) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written August 8, 2019 by Shad E. Sanders

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my first time to go on this type of tour. I am a member of the CoCoRah community and always wanted to do a storm tour. No we did not have tornadoes every day, nor did the storms always cooperate. However this tour focused on placing us in the best position each day. I was happy with how each day played out and happy with the storms that we chased and pursued. In between storms we checked out the local tourist places of interest and allowed the tour to be a foodie paradise sampling the local delis, shops, and places. I loved the fact that we ate local and not fast food every single time (we only ate fast food 4 or 5 times), we chased the major storms of the day and kept repositioning ourselves until the storm had nothing left to give.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour 4 (2016) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written August 5, 2019 by Russ

extreme tornado tours logo

My wife and I lived my dream in May 2016. Travelling from the UK. I have followed storms all my life ( not literally) and chose extreme tornado tours because of the links with Reed Tiimmer although not exclusively because of this. My wife was worried she would be the only female and us the only Brits, not the case it was about 50/50 men women and about 7 Brits, some of who were veterans and chased before with ETT. I have to say it was the most amazing experience, we chased every day seeing some tornados and mega lightening storms. The ETT team were fantastic and made everybody feel welcome. Everything was explained before during and after, they really knew what they were doing. Storms and tornadoes are not guaranteed so dont expect them, the guys do their upmost to travel a lot of miles to get you the action. I definitely recommend ETT and once both of our daughters weddings are paid for we will be going again. Nick is a really nice guy. If you get scared in dangerous weather and driving situations then its not for you. You dont start the day till late on but can end up not getting back until early hours. Food can be on the go but they stopped at decent places when they could. All the hotel or motels we stayed at were good but its short notice so might not be top notch. When chasing it was important to listen when to stay or go. There are lots of photo opportunities and toilet stops.

Read the entire review here.


Write a review

The reviews are an important part of providing feedback to others and helping them to choose a tour. It is very important that the reviews are honest and describes the tour operator, tour guide, vehicles etc without being biased by the weather.

In order to write a review you must, obviously, have been on the tour you review. You cannot write reviews of tour companies for which you are associated with, for example if you are part of the tour companies staff.

You can find the reviews under each tour operator or each tour. If you cannot find a specific review that was previously visible on StormChasingUSA.com, try searching under the un-validated reviews.

Write your own review of a storm chasing tour