Reviews of storm chasing tours

StormChasingUSA.com has the most reviews of storm chasing tour companies on the web and is THE place to go to read reviews of the tour companies before you book your tour. You can also compare prices on storm chasing tours as well as check the dates on all tours here to see which one fits you the best.

Reviews of specific tour companies

If you want to find all the reviews from a specific tour operator, check out their page here on StormChasingUSA.com.

Most recent reviews

This is a list of the most recently published reviews ordered by date. Note that there could be reviews of older tours as well.

Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2007) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by Ciaran G (Ireland)

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

My first chase tour; my expectations were we would see some mad weather but would be dependent on mother nature. In reality, it exceeded my expectations. While we didn't get to see a full on tornedo on my week/tour, got to see/experience everything else, coming from Ireland, the thunderstorms we got to chase most days were epic, the lightning intensity, the large hail we had to shelter in a steel shed was epic (the noise alone!). Felt safe at all times but was surprised AND DELIGHTED how close we could get to these systems, had situations where we were under a storm cloud where we could hear the hail in the cloud + getting behind a storm where the wind inflow was (must have been 100kph+ ... as it was like storms on west cost of Ireland) + seeing the circulations/spinning clouds where a tornedo would emerge (or tried to). Dusk/nightime lightning storms usually ended the chase days which was magic. The tour was much more than weather/chase; being from Ireland, it was a fantastic road trip to boot; travelled 2500 miles in 1 week across Oklahoma, Kansas and Texas through varied landscapes and towns/cities; highlight being San Antonio where we had a few hours to spare. Would never in a million years get to see/stay in these places in a week. And then there was the food/dining; what an experience... steak house (72lb steak special in Amarillo) to tex-mex to some mad (in a good way) diners; Erik knew where all the good places were to go in the towns/areas we landed in. Ours was the first Tour1 so was with a couple from Chicago, and got on great and were there for the reason and expectations (just added to the experience). There will be another trip for me; probably 2024, will be with Erik/team for certain, may just go for later tour which is in the northern plains; just to see another part of the states. If you are comin form Ireland, let me know!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by ChasingStormsNotWomen

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

Erik was a lot of fun and very personable and very helpful and even though chasing storms is an adventure he took it seriously to make sure that everyone's experience will be a very memorable one! Highly recommend tornadic expeditions

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written October 22, 2022 by Extreme Weather

extreme tornado tours logo

Five star review! It really felt like our guides were out storm chasing and jus let us tag along. We have not had two good chase days, but saw an excellent tornado on one of them. Our guides did an great job of briefing us on the weather and the possibilities. On the day of the tornado, we ended up driving nearly 600 miles but we were in exactly the right spot at the right time. On off days, our guides took us to different national parks. We are at several excellent restaurants and at a number of fast food restaurants when we were in a rush. I would highly recommend ETT. My one caveat is that this tour is for people who love extreme weather. When there was a possibility of a good storm, we would chase it until we were sure it was gone. Several nights we were out until quite late. This is exactly what we wanted.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by Ciaran G (Ireland)

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

My first chase tour; my expectations were we would see some mad weather but would be dependent on mother nature. In reality, it exceeded my expectations. While we didn't get to see a full on tornedo on my week/tour, got to see/experience everything else, coming from Ireland, the thunderstorms we got to chase most days were epic, the lightning intensity, the large hail we had to shelter in a steel shed was epic (the noise alone!). Felt safe at all times but was surprised AND DELIGHTED how close we could get to these systems, had situations where we were under a storm cloud where we could hear the hail in the cloud + getting behind a storm where the wind inflow was (must have been 100kph+ ... as it was like storms on west cost of Ireland) + seeing the circulations/spinning clouds where a tornedo would emerge (or tried to). Dusk/nightime lightning storms usually ended the chase days which was magic. The tour was much more than weather/chase; being from Ireland, it was a fantastic road trip to boot; travelled 2500 miles in 1 week across Oklahoma, Kansas and Texas through varied landscapes and towns/cities; highlight being San Antonio where we had a few hours to spare. Would never in a million years get to see/stay in these places in a week. And then there was the food/dining; what an experience... steak house (72lb steak special in Amarillo) to tex-mex to some mad (in a good way) diners; Erik knew where all the good places were to go in the towns/areas we landed in. Ours was the first Tour1 so was with a couple from Chicago, and got on great and were there for the reason and expectations (just added to the experience). There will be another trip for me; probably 2024, will be with Erik/team for certain, may just go for later tour which is in the northern plains; just to see another part of the states. If you are comin form Ireland, let me know!

Read the entire review here.


Review of May Madness - Tour 2 - 7 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by jmandak

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This was my wife's 60th birthday present to me. Had chased with another tour company nine years prior and had a good time, but Erik Burns and Nick Busby took things to another level. My wife went in dubious, doubtful and, quite frankly, pretty afraid of what we'd experience and came home a believer. She felt safe and secure once she realized Nick and crew understood the science of storm-chasing. We chased 6 tornadoes and several supercells and had a great time. I expect to do another tour with them in the next 3 years or so.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Tour #1 (2022) by StormChasingTour.com

Written October 22, 2022 by HKS

storm chasing tour logo

Tour 4 2022 was a very enjoyable experience. We had 2 proper chasing days and scored a wedge tornado on the first, this thanks to Brandon's brilliant ability to get you where you want to be on a storm and safely take you close to the action. The hotels were of good quality and Brandon makes an effort to find good and interesting places to stop for food. This means we had a sit down meal almost every evening with good variety and no fast food. Depending on the distance to travel we would had some point of interest along our drives before the afternoon storms. When no storms were forecast we always had an interesting day activity along our route, be it a canyon, volcano or simply a quaint town for lunch, every day was enjoyable and featured something memorable regardless of the weather. The small tour group size also makes it a very personal and less crowded experience I reached out to Brandon before booking to tour and he was very helpful with answering my questions. He offers a friendly and professional service that I highly recommend. If you are looking for a storm chasing tour, look no further!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written October 22, 2022 by Judy

extreme tornado tours logo

The organisation was extremely professional, particularly the pre-tour information. All accommodation bookings went smoothly, and vehicles performed perfectly.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written October 22, 2022 by Kenzie

extreme tornado tours logo

This tour was one of the most memorable and exciting trips I’ve ever been on! This tour company knew right where to be to see the best storms. The whole crew was extremely knowledgeable, caring, accommodating, and compassionate! Extremely professional! The vans were comfortable with plenty of space! Would 110% recommend them to anyone! I will be back touring with them again someday!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2007) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written October 22, 2022 by Jen ETT 2022#7

extreme tornado tours logo

My tour was great! ETT exceeded my expectations with friendliness, knowledgeability, and a passion for the chase. Extremely responsive to emails, calls, and texts. Went out of their way to ensure each guest felt welcomed, which was amazing as I was a newbie to the whole experience. I highly recommended ETT to friends and family members before, during, and after the tour. The only thing I would have changed: For an extra $15-20/night, our group could have slept better at night knowing the rooms were cleaner/more modern.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by Samdebaldwin

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

One of the best trips of my life! This was my second year going with Erik and his crew and I plan on booking again for next year. They work very hard to find you gorgeous supercells! And on storm-less days we checked out national parks and monuments I’d never been to. Everyone is super nice and extremely knowledgeable. As a vegetarian it could be a little tough to find options on the road but I brought plenty of snacks and was fine 🙂 thank you guys!!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by Mitch

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

Having been on tours with another company for 4 years, I decided to give Tornadic Expeditions a shot this year. And I was not disappointed at all! I went on tour 6 in mid-June with a pretty decent weather pattern - 4 out of 6 days were chase days. And on all 4 of those days, I felt that we were on the best storm of the day, despite not seeing any tornadoes. There was one day where we chased a storm that was moving so fast that most other chasers weren’t able to keep up, but Erik and Tornadic Expeditions stayed on it for 6 hours! That was possible because of how small the group was. While other tours can have 12 and even up to 18 guests, this one just had 8, which made for much quicker stops and a more personal experience. I also enjoyed how we stayed in nicer hotels - including 2 nights in Hilton hotels - and not the old run-down motels you see in a lot of towns. And there were always fun activities on down days. On one of them we went to Rocky Mountain National Park, and on the other we explored the Badlands.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written October 22, 2022 by Bruce

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

My daughter has been fascinated by severe weather, especially tornados, since she was 6. So, the 2 of use (she is now 12) went on the upslope Tour #6 of Tornadic Expeditions in early June 2022. It was everything we hoped for, even though we did not see a tornado. The lead tour guide, Erik, got us to all the bad weather he could during our 7 days of chasing. Usually we were in the lead and first to the scene of all the other chasers (who were reporting their location). We got into large hail and under super cells and saw many beautiful weather formations. We chased until there was no more to chase, which meant very late nights at time. But that is the excitement of it. We had one night when the severe weather chased us about 170 miles east of where we wanted to be in South Dakota; we finally hide at a truck stop and weathered the storm. Usually when my daughter and I vacation, we have fun but after 4 nights are ready to go home --- we are both home bodies. Not this trip, both of us could have gone longer than 7 nights. Erik said we were the first father-daughter pair to come and Jade was the youngest he's ever taken on a tour. For those reading this and thinking of taking a younger child, you need to know that Jade is a super traveler and road tripper, that usually it is dad and his coffee that request the first stop. Understand there is lots of down time, too, waiting for and planning for the next chase, which could be 500 miles away. But, the down times were a blast: went to Estes Park, Badlands National Park, spend time in general stores or village playgrounds out in the middle of nowhere. One thing we both loved is we saw rural America from roads we would never ever probably see. Maybe we were just lucky, but the other tourists were great to be with and we all became friends and had fun together. After a few days my 12 year, who is reserved and shy, had warmed up to some of the other adults and I would find here going off and talking with them and not needing dad around. It is a unique time. Pretty awesome trip and would like to go again, and if we/I do, it will be with Erik. One thing I would do differently, when there is a Walmart stop get lots of healthy, non-perishable snacks because you really don't know where you will be from day to day. Looking back, Erik and his team have a pretty good handle on dining and motel logistics given you don't know where you are going to be from day to day.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Violent Skies - Tour 7 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written September 29, 2022 by Ray

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

This is tour # 5 for me with Tornadic Expeditions - and like every tour before - it was filled with fun & adventure! We saw amazing storms, crazy lightning, a meteor, a wildfire (which also lit up the bottom of a supercell) and more. On a couple of down days, we saw Yellowstone, Old Faithful, Mount Rushmore, The Badlands, Devil's Rock and more. It was a great group - and 10 days just flew by. I can't wait to go again!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2022) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written August 28, 2022 by Will

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I went on two tours this year. One in late May and one in late June. Although the outlook wasn’t the best for both tours, we still managed to see four tornados and tons of beautiful supercells. One day, we were on the only supercell in the country and we were the only chasers there! Erik always manages to get us into the perfect spot. The tours are very comfortable with only 4 guests per van. If you ever need to stop for anything, he will gladly stop. You don’t just get a wonderful tour and an awesome experience, you get lifelong friends. All in all I would 100% recommend Tornadic Expeditions.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Epic April - Tour 1 - 10 Days (2007) by Tornadic Expeditions

Written July 5, 2022 by Bristow Images

tornadic expeditions storm chasing

I joined Tornadic Expeditions on Tour 6, 2022 after booking with different tour groups the last 2 years. I am so glad I found this company, Erik and his team did everything that his website mentioned would be done, and I am looking forward to the trip that I have booked next year with them!

Read the entire review here.


Review of Northern Cyclone Trek Tour (Tour 7) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 5, 2022 by Matt H

extreme tornado tours logo

This was an awesome tour with an awesome tour group and awesome guides. The week's outlook wasn't looking that great, but they still managed to find us some great storms to chase, and even a tornado as luck would have it. On the days where there was nothing to chase, they did great with finding us cool things to do and places to visit, ranging from national attractions like Mt Rushmore and Badlands National Park to more local places like Carhenge and Chimney Rock. Hotels were overall pretty good, taking into account the lack of availability around and prices these days (thanks to Trey for being the self-described hotel snob and helping keep us in nice places). The arguably worst place we were in was a Motel 6 because nothing else was available, but it was actually a pretty nice Motel 6. Just would recommend to avoid hotels right across the street from train tracks next time (like that one in Thedford). Restaurant choice was overall great too - some very very nice restaurant choices and a minimum of fast-food stops except when we needed to be quick. Even if we sometimes didn't get in til late, usually the tour days started fairly late at 10 or 11am (even noon, once), so there was no need to stress out about getting up early. Overall, it was a great tour and I got to meet some great people, take a lot of great pictures, and make a lot of great memories. Definitely thinking to come back, maybe in 2024 (2023 tours are already fully booked, that's how in-demand these guys are). Even if we had gotten no storms at all, I think it would have been a pretty fun week-long getaway through the northern plains.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 5, 2022 by Rhian.Wales.UK

extreme tornado tours logo

I went on my first tour with ETT in June 2022; it was something I'd wanted to do since being a child and I had researched my tour company in great detail prior to booking. Chasing with ETT was everything I wanted it to be and so so much more! During the tour I saw my first and second tornadoes near Dorrance, KS. We also saw some stunning supercell structures, beautiful lightning and some good hail. We stayed in good hotels; even when we were located in the backend of nowhere! We ate like kings throughout the week and on days where the weather was uneventful we enjoyed trips to places of interest throughout the US. As a single woman travelling from the UK it was daunting but I need not have worried, being on the tour felt strangely like home. I felt safe, comfortable and cared for. I honestly cannot recommend ETT enough, it was a truly magical experience and I cannot wait to do it again, again and again.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written July 4, 2022 by Jen ETT 2022#7

extreme tornado tours logo

My tour was great! ETT exceeded my expectations with friendliness, knowledgeability, and a passion for the chase. Extremely responsive to emails, calls, and texts. Went out of their way to ensure each guest felt welcomed, which was amazing as I was a newbie to the whole experience. I highly recommended ETT to friends and family members before, during, and after the tour. The only thing I would have changed: For an extra $15-20/night, our group could have slept better at night knowing the rooms were cleaner/more modern.

Read the entire review here.


Review of Anticipated Velocity Voyage Tour (Tour 4) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Laura

extreme tornado tours logo

ETT went beyond trying to get us to active storm locations, no matter where. Dependable and roomy .

Read the entire review here.


Review of High Risk Excursion Tour (Tour 5) (2022) by Extreme Tornado Tours

Written June 19, 2022 by Laura

extreme tornado tours logo

ETT went out of their way to find storms for us, and the van was roomy and everyone had a window seat, air conditioning and plenty of water and bathroom breaks.

Read the entire review here.


Write a review

The reviews are an important part of providing feedback to others and helping them to choose a tour. It is very important that the reviews are honest and describes the tour operator, tour guide, vehicles etc without being biased by the weather.

In order to write a review you must, obviously, have been on the tour you review. You cannot write reviews of tour companies for which you are associated with, for example if you are part of the tour companies staff.

You can find the reviews under each tour operator or each tour. If you cannot find a specific review that was previously visible on StormChasingUSA.com, try searching under the un-validated reviews.

Write your own review of a storm chasing tour